Author Topic: Areas in San Diego  (Read 10347 times)

Offline yaro

• Sails Pavilion
  • Liked: 0
Areas in San Diego
« on: March 04, 2012, 04:01:17 PM »
Hi everyone! This is my first time going to SDCC and San Diego in general, flying in from New Jersey. I tried to find plane tickets and hotels today and got confused in terms of the areas of San Diego (like Mission Valley, Downtown). Basically, I was wondering what's a close area near the convention center or close enough by car or something? Or would it just be better to wait until Comic Con opens up the hotel offers and choose from there?

Any advice is helpful!

Offline Transmute Jun

• Stan Lee's Hospitality Suite
  • Queen of the Bird Missiles
  • Liked: 9714
Re: Areas in San Diego
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 05:17:27 PM »
It is confusing. Anything that says 'Gaslamp' is walkable to the convention center, but some areas are definitely closer than others. Basically the convention center is on the water on one end of the downtown/gaslamp district.

If you want to know where a place is located, google it and click on the map. Then click on directions, and get walking directions to the convention center. That will give you a good idea of distance.

Friends of Comic Cons

« Reply #2 on: Today at 12:41:16 PM »

Offline Zero

• Global Moderator
  • Liked: 1991
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 05:13:18 AM »
Well, the convention center is in Downtown, near what is known as the "Gaslamp Quarter."  The Gaslamp Quarter is actually right across the street from it, if you're facing Harbor Drive.

I made an UNOFFICIAL hotel location reference guide to help figure out how far away certain hotels are--you can Google the name of the hotel for the actual address.  I based this off of the SDCCI 2011 "Quick Guide" pdf, so the graphic quality isn't as good as I'd like it to be.  (I made them really quickly with MS Paint.) Otherwise, I think it'll serve its general purpose as a reference map. ^_^;