Author Topic: Glass Onion - now on Netflix  (Read 1633 times)

Offline perc2100

• Volunteer HQ
  • Liked: 1770
Glass Onion - now on Netflix
« on: December 24, 2022, 09:55:38 AM »
I _really_ liked this film when it was in theaters during Thanksgiving, and now, Christmas weekend, it's dropped on Netflix for the world to enjoy.  Here are some brief comments I made last month about this masterpiece:

GLASS ONION I'm an unabashed writer/director Rian Johnson fan; I haven't seen a movie of his yet that I haven't really liked, if not loved.  His first film post-SW was KNIVES OUT, an incredibly fun 'murder mystery' with an incredible cast anchored by star Daniel Craig as the Foghorn Leghorn-accented private detective, that seemingly resonated with a lot of people.  For me, KNIVES OUT is a wildly entertaining mystery/character showcase that's an absolute blast, and set the bar HIGH for a follow-up.  Well, GLASS ONION at worst met my expectations, and maybe exceeds it, with an equally entertaining cast & story.  I won't go into too many details, as part of the fun of these mysteries is the twists and turns, but needless to say billionaire tech bro Edward Norton and his 'disruptor' buddies feel like characters written in August based on Elon Musk yet somehow Johnson presciently crafted a film that 100% speaks to _now_ in a wildly funny way.  The setting this time is a private Greek island with a cast of suspects that all had a motive.  Throw in some funny cameos (Angela Lansbury & Steven Soundheim's final film performance, I think, is one) and you have a really entertaining couple of hours.  The film is in theaters only until tonight before hitting Netflix the Friday before Christmas in a head-scratching move (this film could EASILY clear $100m + in a week or two of wide-release, yet is being yanked against theater owner wishes after a mere week in theaters).